The Most Intelligent Sign of the Zodiac is . . .

When I was young and someone appeared to be “the opposite of smart,” my mother and grandmother would say, “S/he wasn’t in line when God handed out the brains.”

Brains, then, were a quantifiable commodity, like sugar.

Human senses/traits we quantify: 

  • Intelligence
  • Eyesight
  • Hearing
  • Taste (I think)

Human senses/traits we don’t quantify:

  • Smell
  • Touch
  • All other personality traits such as courage, honor, weakness, etc.

 So when did we decide that intelligence was quantifiable and courage was not?

When I first participated in a role-playing game, I was surprised to learn that “role playing” wasn’t like acting but was actually about quantifiable traits. In the role playing game I was exposed to, you rolled the dice and gained “quantities” of anything from intelligence to courage.

The Myers-Briggs Personality Assessment attempts to quantify personality traits such as support, conformity, recognition, independence, benevolence and leadership.

No trait appears as quantifiable in tests as intelligence.

Like beauty or stubbornness, I see intelligence as a personality trait. Intelligence, like any other trait, provides us defense, comfort and safety. Or it doesn’t and we choose the opposite of intelligence for that same reason – defense, comfort and safety.

To me, intelligence has two forms: 

  • Analytical intelligence – this is the one measured by the IQ test and relates to cognitive ability
  • Perception – this is recognizing and understanding the emotional and physical world as it is

Sheldon Cooper, one of the main characters on The Big Bang Theory, has high doses of analytical intelligence (something like an IQ of 185, if I recall). Yet he can’t tell if someone around him is angry and that the anger relates to a nasty comment that he made.

Sheldon Cooper is analytical but not perceptive. His intelligence is a defense against the emotional world around him. His intelligence is so strong that it forms a shield. Yet he sees himself as working toward helping that mankind, the very mankind he wants nothing to do with.

The signs I see most intelligent in terms of analytical and perceptive intelligence are:

Analytical – Aquarius

Perception – Scorpio

Scorpio, to me, is the most difficult sign to fool. They see your every motivation regardless of what you say, what degrees you have and what others say.

With that said, every sign is intelligent is some way, to me. 

Fire signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) have intuitive intelligence. They see the possibilities and take the risks. Have you seen some product or service that’s made a bazillion dollars and think, “Why didn’t I think of that?” Maybe you did even think of that. It’s the fire signs or the fire in your chart that drives you to make the bazillion dollars, to convince others it can make a bazillion dollars.

Earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn) have practical intelligence, from balancing the checkbook to solving problems in the workplace. The Sheldon Coopers of the world don’t do well in the workplace because you have to solve a problem now that isn’t perfect or ideal, but makes money.

Air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) have idealistic, analytical intelligence. These signs live in the world of ideas and are associated with socializing. These signs prefer ideas to emotions and love any kind of categorization. Socializing provides stimulation of ideas.

Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces) have perceptive intelligence. They are the ones who understand your motivation and understand how you feel. In Chinese astrology, water is associated with intelligence. Water signs are connected to others and what is the world but others? The word “genius” in the West brings up images of Albert Einstein who was a Pisces.

About ohioastrology

I'm just another soul trying to make sense of the world. As I've grown, so has my understanding of astrology. I'd like to communicate that astrology is not occult and not fortune-telling but that it is a fluid, creative description of the life we choose to live.
This entry was posted in The most . . . sign of the zodiac and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to The Most Intelligent Sign of the Zodiac is . . .

  1. Christine says:

    Very nIce….

  2. Vendox says:

    I loooooove ma zodiac Virgo!

  3. Catherine Jonas says:

    I like my Zodiac Sign vvvvvvvvvv much,Aries u r d best! :)

  4. Catherine Jonas says:

    I love u Rk We r really compatible in dis sense Libra n Aries match rocks!!!!!

  5. cristian mejos says:

    aquarius!!!!

  6. whitenigger says:

    Virgos are the SMARTEST, but also the MEANEST.

    Tauruses are the DUMBEST, but also the NICEST.

    Capricorn is somewhere in the MIDDLE.

  7. Ty says:

    Interesting, I myself am an Aquarius Mercury and Sun, with a Scorpio Moon. With all egotism aside, most people I come across tell me I am one of the most intelligent people they have ever met.

  8. Ty says:

    Another important thing to consider is that the element air in Astrology represents intellect. The three signs ruled by air are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. The planet Mercury rules intellect and Uranus rules intellect at a higher octave. The natural rulers of Mercury being Gemini and Virgo. The natural ruler of Uranus being Aquarius. Memory is an important part of knowledge and intelligence as well in my opinion. The Moon rules your memory and emotions. The natural ruler of the Moon being Cancer. The element water represents emotion. The water signs are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. From what I have witnessed, the most intelligent people are those of air Sun placements, air Mercury placements, and water Moon placements combined. I personally have all three considering i’m an Aquarius Sun/ Mercury with Moon in Scorpio.

    • I find water has an instinctive knowledge that air signs can miss. I’d argue the world is not a rational place & water understands that. Air knows idea but water knows motivation. Scorpio is the detective where Aquarius is the scientist.

      Combined it’s powerful. I wonder how sun scorpio moon Aquarius would be different. Then you’d be asking the moon to be rational which isn’t as comfortable. Moon likes Scorpio – it’d be like a feeding ground.

      So your conscious sun is rational and your reactive moon is emotional which has a balance.

      In Chinese astrology, water rules intelligence. They also have the element of metal and wood, but no air.

      Interesting to compare one’s western elements with eastern.

      • Ty says:

        Fascinating. I have actually never looked into Chinese Astrology, but will do so sometime. I am actually joining something called Job Corps to become an Electrical Lineman rather than finishing school so I can fund my dreams. I have considered college, but it would consume alot of time during my youth, which i’d rather spend focusing on my real dreams. I am already partly through the process of attaining my GED. I am also currently working on my own Philosophy book that I write many of my contemplations into and hope to publish within a year or two. Some may think my dreams and methods foolish, but I carefully contemplate all important decisions and make up the details as I go. Some other placements in my chart include Taurus Ascendant, Sagittarius Venus, and Leo/ Virgo cusp in Mars. I understand that a Taurus Ascendant gives you steady hands and a good voice, which may explain why i’ve picked up guitar and singing so fast. I am also completely self taught in music and Astrology.

  9. christian pittman says:

    I feel that the smartest zodiac signs comes down to the outside of the box thinkers “flexible” there are four and they’re all connected gemini is polar oppisite “positive negative” to virgo but geminis oppiste is sagitarius and sagitarius polar oppisite is pisces and pisces is oppisite “none polar oppisite” is virgo so gemini,virgo,sagitarius,pisces

    • christian pittman says:

      Oh yea i’m a gemini my planet mercury and that Is as deep as i get about the planets ” hail mother mercury” the language planet and “what is the main thing about geminis?” is their words and what is the main thing about virgos idk but I’m positive words is not on the basics of a virgo

      • I agree but also think there are different types of intelligence. Einstein was a Pisces who thought about time, something the average person doesn’t even consider. But if you asked him to lead an army and defeat a foe, that type of strategic intelligence may (or may not) have been difficult for him.

  10. christian pittman says:

    True but wasn’t Einstein a savant some parts of his brain were at a different level

  11. christian pittman says:

    Oh and really I’m only a 17 year old drop out who got a GED but i wasn’t stupid i quit bc of laziness i wouldn’t do anything bc i thought i knew it all and i do know a little bit about alot of things being a gemini but what I’m saying is i could have done better but one thing about geminis is they are supposed to be good at language but i never paid attention to the rules but I’m good at vocabulary something i should have noticed but if came down to a research paper or making up a story i would choose making a story but my best class was math but could have done way better in language arts but i still have my words and my natural none gemini math skills

  12. Aqualoira says:

    Interesting, I am an Aquarius and I always feel that smartest zodiac in my life.

  13. irokat says:

    I actually believe gemini is the smartest. I am a gemini virgo rising pisces moon. I also like scorpios and virgos.

  14. Shakira’s IQ is140. And she is Aquarius. It makes a sense.

  15. Christina says:

    IQ isn’t even a real measure of intelligence. Throughout all of the replies I have not seen anyone agree with each other, I just think that everyone is not looking logically but more based on their self esteem and how much they want THEIR zodiac sign to be the most smartest. Everyone will say their zodiac sign and I guess this is normal for humans to do that but personally I think Pisces is the smartest zodiac sign, it’s just their nature. They are gifted in a wide variety of areas and also very intuitive and as Pisces is the last of the zodiacs it has a little experience from all of the signs which makes them who they are. It’s pointless arguing with that!

    • Inmate47 says:

      You’re arguing the lack of logical implementation by others in this topic.
      But with all kindness I have to mention, the structure of your own conclusions are profoundly impaired by the standards of logic.

      Have a nice one

    • If I were to write this today, I’d probably say there are different types of intelligence. But there is one that is measured (analytical represented by air) and I think a few signs do well there. But there is also water intelligence which sees through people’s motives. There are geniuses who can’t balance a checkbook (earth intelligence) and then there is intuition (fire intelligence).

      But lots will disagree with this. In a way, it’s like saying all religions have the same god, which also creates strong negative reaction in some.

  16. Inmate47 says:

    I am a Gemini and have never encountered an individual capable of mimicking the speed and depth of my analytical skills both on the field of logic and social interpretation

    My brain has wired to learn by default.
    Without effort I learn and adapt with such high speed that it leaves people in total awe.

    A specific skill acquired by an individual should not be represented as a symbolic conversion of intelligence.

    Rather than measuring the knowledge and productions of people to determine high intelligence, the time taken for this consolidation is of higher value in estimating intelligence.

    A normal test person would need a considerable time to notice usable information, a genius would take only a fraction of that time.

    But only a true genius is able to convert this adaptability and accelerated learning ratio into universal fields.
    Logic, instruments, creativity, social skills or any platform requiring the brain to adapt, the true genius will excell in all.

    I am a Gemini but my brain capacity is not necessarily dependant of astrological influence.
    I do continuously read articles about the Gemini being quick witted and specifically noted as very intelligent unlike other zodiac signs.

    In my environment the smartest people I’ve known were always Gemini’s.
    Fast, reckless and logical thinkers.

    Anyone has the right to disagree with my perspective but experience has convinced me, if you’re arguing zodiac signs concerning the intelligence department
    Think twice before putting any other sign before Gemini on that field
    Because that department happens to be our homebase

    Have a nice day

    • John D. says:

      Fascinating. So you consider yourself a genius? And you believe your subjective experience qualifies your opinions as valid?

      You’re already in trouble. But you sound pretty young, so there’s time for improvement.

  17. Matthew says:

    I would have to believe that Aquarius are the most intelligent.

  18. walto says:

    scorpios are most intelligent, hands down.. we also have the craziest, the richest, the funniest, and most attractive people. and then there is Taurus.

  19. Andy says:

    im a taurus and my gf is my oppisite sign scorpio, are birthdays are april 30th and october 30. we are equal. and god i love her so much. what i see. she feels. what i think. she understands. i love her so much.

  20. Andy says:

    wow some of you people are pretentious, thats sad :(

  21. Andy says:

    i think the smartest sign must be cancer. cuz i dont see any on here being pretentious on a web page about zodiac signs lol. for real, wanna be smart? get with your opposing sign. you will fill one another. just when you think your smart, you understand something new..its honestly wonderful i strongly recommend it :)

  22. Andy says:

    any good, smart, loveing person will make there sign shine anyways. You control your sign, not the other way around. Like im a man, im not defined by what the world tells me a man is. I am a man, and i define what a man is.

  23. Ty says:

    I may have met my intellectual match. I’ve been in a relationship with a girl for the past year and she is very intelligent. She had the highest test scores in her high school. Her placements are Aries Rising, Leo Sun, Taurus Moon, and Virgo Mercury. My placements are Taurus Rising, Aquarius Sun, Scorpio Moon, and Aquarius Mercury. Interesting that her Rising and Moon are the sgins of Mars and Venus, whereas mine are Venus and Mars. As well as the opposite Sun and Moon signs, with intellectual Mercury placements in both of our charts. She is very intelligent, but constantly talks about how she is average or medicore. I tell her I think she’s smarter than me, but she laughs and puts herself down. I have an IQ of 139, but I believe hers is higher.

  24. srdjan says:

    I am a scorpio and i have iq=150

  25. AquAriAn says:

    Most people think being smart and intelligent is all the same, which is thankfully NOT the case. If everyone was smart there would be no solutions to a lot of problems prevailing in this earth -scientifically, politically and socially.

    That being said, Aquarians, I believe are some of the most creative, intelligent and “out of the box” thinkers who are mostly lost within their mind. Aquarians interact with people to stimulate their minds even more and rarely indulge in small talks, which smart people kinda love doing or atleast attentively listen to just to show off their little pride and to hide their egos.

    A true Aquarian would not care two hoots, whether the person is smart or not. What really matters to him is his freedom and independence to socialize, yes you heard that right, and if he/she is able to connect with someone on an idea, he knows that’s a lot more interesting thing to talk about rather than seeing the gadget the smart guy is trying to show off.

    This may sound as a ramble, but having organized events, filed patents and worked on path breaking technology, I can certainly say that Aquarians are either Genius or lost in their own world. Either way they are aware of what happens around them, even though they might not tell and also lead the pack of rest of the Zodiacs by a couple of years of ahead.

    Aquarian traits – Futuristic, Intelligent, Psychically Intuitive, Unpredictable, Knowledgeable, Hardworking(that’s why they are not smart!), Connect with nature, Patient, Independent, a perfect global citizen and always tries to learn wherever the source, Mindtalker (It maybe good or bad, but that’s only for finding the truth).

    • I sometimes think the absentminded professor is an Aquarian sort. They can come up with technologies way beyond the present but forget to turn the car off when leaving it in the parking garage (true Aquarian story).

  26. Luci says:

    I am not an Aquarius myself but I am somehow surrounded by them and I have to say they are probably the most intelligent people I know. I found it odd that most of them were Aquarius and that’s why I decided to google if there was a relation. These all are people with great analytical and creative skills. They all seem to be really perceptive and rational and one thing I’ve noticed is that they really like to learn (by any means not just reading a book but by talking to people etc)

  27. nvjnv says:

    I do believe that your opinions are quite true though as a Scorpio………….What should I say? Pretentious, I hope not to be, but Aquarius does seem to be quite the virtuoso in may arts. In succession from there, I believe there would be the Virgos and Scorpio, which, in my subjective opinion(watch the redundancy), are the most intuitive. Intelligence is a fickle thing decided from frame of reference, that is to say, society decides for us the standards of genius, or any intellect at all. I, myself, possess a reasonable iq of 144, but that is a number, just a number really. True intellect is subjective. There is no difference between good and bad, crazy and genius, you or me really, but perception and that’s all there is to it. Good day, ohioastrology and ty, thank you for being consistent, God bless!

    • I wrote this blog at the beginning of my blogship. Even though I still enjoy writing “what’s the most . . .” for fun, if I wrote it today I would describe how each sign or element has its own intelligence. In writing about lying, for example, I noticed how Taurus lies, a sign I hadn’t associated with lying. They simply lie best in their element – money and assets. The great money swindlers have Taurus. Taurus intelligence, then, relates to assets.

      For me Scorpio is the most intelligent because of my own bias that true intelligence comes from emotional understanding. I don’t believe that people are rational and Scorpio, looking to motivation, accepts what’s truly occurring and is able to respond most intelligently.

      I’m always highly impressed with Scorpio intelligence from my own intelligence vantage point.

  28. Unknown says:

    Very accurate . I’m a Scorpio. ;)

  29. Cynical Saint says:

    in my personal opinion, i believe a genius is a person who doesn’t waste any time stressing and focuses on living a long life. Zodiacs that fit this description are negative signs because they cope with negative environments very well unlike positive signs who cant stand negativity. Also, most old folks who have reached 100+ years are Cancers(Live in excellent memories) , Virgos(Nutrition Nutjobs) , and Capricons(Ambition & Adaptation drive these wicked goats to live long.)

  30. jufrrk says:

    I take it as such, working as theoretical physicist and software engineer, intelligence is equal to common sense and effort. IQ is nothing without those things and take that from someone with a IQ of 178.

Leave a Reply

