The Most Beautiful Sign of the Zodiac is . . .

Wait, wait. How can beauty be described in the horoscope when the horoscope is about personality?

Many, many moons back while in Taiwan I studied Chinese Ba Zi (Eight Characters) which is a shortened version of the Chinese astrology Zi Wei Dou Shu.

My teacher showed me her eight characters and said how a specific combination made others see her as “beautiful.” That was the first time I considered beauty in the horoscope. Like intelligence, I saw it as something handed out at birth in a certain amount, not a quality.

I see beauty in the horoscope under two types: classical and ethereal.

Classical Beauty

I see classical beauty as falling under the sign of Aquarius. The late Linda Goodman saw Aquarius as the most beautiful sign and I see her point. When Aquarius is beautiful, it is the classical, evenly aligned beauty of perfection.

Aquarius, to me, is the sign of the “perfect universe,” or utopian vision. The beauty of Aquarius seems to fall into this perfection that the universe can create, albeit randomly.

Beauty is also in the realm of Libra which is a sign I see as loving beauty itself. Libra needs beauty to survive where others need food and air.

While Libra may not be classically beautiful, pure Libra carries a charm that always emanates as beauty. Libra knows how to enhance whatever physical form was provided and add beauty in the way we take a plain tree and turn it into a beautiful Christmas tree.

Ethereal Beauty

Ethereal beauty to me is the type that is not about physical features. It is the essence of both beauty and otherworldliness. I see that type of beauty represented by the planet Neptune (which rules the sign of Pisces).

Today’s age of information overload produces many, many beauties. I’ll have to go back to the 1960’s when certain women, such as Marilyn Monroe and Elizabeth Taylor, stood out as being the beauties of their time.

Marilyn Monroe had sun in Gemini, moon in Aquarius opposite Neptune in Leo. Elizabeth Taylor was sun in Pisces, moon in Scorpio with Neptune opposite the sun.

Both women represented more than their beauty – they represented an ethereal femininity, one without menstrual cramps, motherly cookie baking or political feminism.

Magazines like Vogue find cover models that aren’t classically beautiful but have unique (Aquarius) features that make them ethereally beautiful. Vogue does not sell beauty, it sells an image. That’s why it’s so full of beautiful photographs (Neptune) that project feelings of beauty.

Ethereal beauty is like a mythical image of a faraway wonderland. It must have been difficult for someone like Elizabeth Taylor to carry such a mythical beauty. Maybe that’s why she had so many husbands. Her beauty was so far beyond an earthly, day-to-day partnership.

About ohioastrology

I'm just another soul trying to make sense of the world. As I've grown, so has my understanding of astrology. I'd like to communicate that astrology is not occult and not fortune-telling but that it is a fluid, creative description of the life we choose to live.
This entry was posted in The most . . . sign of the zodiac and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment